This special episode of Seattle Growth Podcast brings you more information about the proposed ordinance that can change the way public spaces are used in neighborhoods throughout Seattle. Seattle City Council is considering a proposal that will set rules dictating the city’s response to unsanctioned encampments on public property. A recent draft can be found here

The proposal has made headlines, but Seattle Growth Podcast is the first to bring you in-depth interviews from multiple perspectives closest to issue. City Councilmember Rob Johnson discusses the proposal and why he co-sponsored it. City Councilmember Tim Burgess discusses why he is opposed to the proposal and what he believes should be done instead.

For a perspective outside of government, the episode also includes an interview with the CEO of the Downtown Seattle Association: Jon Scholes.

For those of you who would like to have your voice heard on either side of this issue, you may find the City Councilmembers’ contact information below:

Lisa Herbold
206-684-8803
lisa.herbold@seattle.gov
Bruce Harrell
206-684-8804
bruce.harrell@seattle.gov
Kshama Sawant
206-684-8016
kshama.sawant@seattle.gov
Rob Johnson
206-684-8808
rob.johnson@seattle.gov
Debora Juarez
206-684-8805
debora.juarez@seattle.gov
Mike O’Brien
206-684-8800
mike.obrien@seattle.gov
Sally Bagshaw
206-684-8801
sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov
Tim Burgess
206-684-8806
tim.burgess@seattle.gov
Lorena Gonzales
206-684-8802
lorena.gonzalez@seattle.gov

You may contact all city council members in a single email using council@seattle.gov

 

Seattle Growth Podcast Live Announcement

Also, be sure to join UW Foster professor Jeff Shulman, who hosts Seattle Growth Podcast, for Seattle Growth Podcast Live on October 17th.

Register Now

Shulman will moderate a distinguished panel of community leaders in a discussion about how to address the growth-related challenges and opportunities that will shape Seattle’s future. The panel includes:

John Connors John Creighton Maggie Walker
Ignition Partners Port of Seattle Commissioner Civic Leader

The panel discussion will be preceded by a networking opportunity during a reception with appetizers and a cash bar.

Where: Impact Hub Seattle. See Location and Parking information.

When: Monday, October 17th, 6pm to 8pm

Register Now

The event is sponsored by

UW Foster Buerk Center for Entrepreneurship and Impact Hub Seattle 

 

Comments are closed.

Seattle Growth Podcast © 2016